Roasted Root Vegetables

by K

Another easy recipe that’s sure to satisfy.

You’ll need a variety of root vegetables (I’ll be using carrots, parsnips, and yams… but anything works), an onion or two, your choice of fat (I’ll be using olive oil, but butter or duck fat would be fantastic), salt, pepper, and some dried herbs of your choice (I’ll probably use some thyme and/or rosemary).

Peel and chop the root veggies and onions into bite size pieces. Regular potatoes take longer to cook than other root veggies, so chop them a bit smaller. Toss with your choice of fat, salt, pepper and herbs (if using). Put into a large uncovered baking dish or roasting pan and bake at 350 for about half an hour (or until done).

My plan is to have it all ready to go, so that when I pull the turkey out to rest, I can drain the pan juices for gravy, put the veggies in the roasting pan and pop it back into the oven.

