20 lbs by Christmas?

by K

I’m going to start out by saying that I probably don’t NEED to lose 20 lbs. I know that there are plenty of people out there who will tell me that I don’t need to lose a single pound. But they would have said the same thing a year ago when I weighed 10 lbs more than I do now. Or 5 years ago when I weighed 15 lbs more than my current weight.

Fact #1: I’m currently 5’6″ tall and weigh just under 145 lbs most days.

Opinion (mine): I weigh too much. My body looks and feels soft and squishy. I tend to store my weight around my waist (bad for my future health, not to mention my figure).

Goal: Lose 20 lbs by Christmas. Naturally, I want most of the weight I lose to be fat.

Fact #2: There are 12.5 weeks until Christmas. That means that I need to lose 1.6 lbs per week. Next Tuesday, on October 4th, I will need to weigh 143.4 lbs (or less). In 5 weeks, on November 1st, I will need to weigh 137 lbs (or less). And in 10 weeks, on December 6th, I will need to weigh 129 lbs (or less). Then I will be on track to hitting my goal of 125 lbs on December 25th.

How?

Step number 1 is getting my diet under control. Diet is 80% (or more) of the weight loss equation. I’ve posted my diet plans already, so I won’t get into detail here. I’ll be taking a primal approach, enjoying plenty of meat and vegetables, with a few fruits and nuts thrown in for variety. I’ll be avoiding all forms of crap. And I’ll indulge occasionally (I’ve already planned out the days) from a small list of approved goodies.

Step number 2 is to make working out a habit. The only problem I have right now is that I have a massive muscle spasm in my neck that I need to take care of. So really, step 2a is releasing the spasm. Good thing I have an appointment booked with a physio. Working out is actually step 2b. I know that I will be strength training 3 days per week. Not sure what my routine will be yet…

