The Law of Attraction… Reality or Bullshit?

by K

The Law of Attraction goes something like this:

  1. Ask the universe for something you desire
  2. Believe that it is yours
  3. Receive

Now I don’t pretend to know how the universe works. What I do know is that humans have only just begun to scratch the surface of the infinite amount of knowledge possible. So maybe all you have to do is: ask for something, believe the universe will deliver it, and voila! It’s yours. But I don’t think so.

I think that when you want something enough, when you TRULY believe that it is possible… you do whatever it takes to get it. You put in the long hours of hard work. You find a way to make it happen. You figure out how to overcome or work around whatever obstacles you encounter.

Think about it. If you don’t believe that something is possible, what incentive would you have to persevere when the going gets tough?

I think there’s a kernel of truth in the Law of Attraction. But I think it’s missing a step. The REAL Law of Attraction, or my “Law of Making Shit Happen and Getting What You Want” goes like this:

  1. Figure out what you really and truly want.
  2. Believe with all our heart and soul that it can be yours.
  3. Work your ass off to make it happen.
  4. Relax and enjoy.

Didn’t someone famous once say “God helps those who help themselves”?

