What Not To Eat

by K

I’ll start my nutrition plan with what NOT to eat… The foods that drain your energy and make you feel (and look) like crap. So without further ado, here’s what I will be giving up in favour of better health:

  • Gluten-containing anything. I already know that I don’t deal well with gluten: I get depressed, brain-fog, gassy, bloated, stuffed up, feel like I have a cold, and all sorts of other nasty shit when I eat gluten. So bye-bye gluten. I’m trading you in for a positive outlook, clear thinking, a flat stomach, energy and overall wellness.
  • Processed vegetable oils. Which means basically all vegetable oils (except cold-pressed extra virgin olive oil and coconut oil). It also means pretty much any processed or commercially prepared food. Why? Because research shows that they are bad for you: depression, aging, heart disease, cancer… They go rancid easily (in the processing and in you body) and rancid oils are definitely bad for you – can you say free radical damage? Besides that, they throw off your omega 3 to omega 6 ratio. I know that for optimal health you want almost equal amounts of omega 3 and omega 6 fatty acids, but low levels of polyunsaturated fatty acids overall, but I’m not entirely sure of the scientific details. For more info, try checking out Mark’s Daily Apple or Archevore
  • Refined sugar, high fructose corn syrup, and all artificial sweeteners. They add nothing but calories, spike insulin levels, increase stress on the body, make you age faster, feed cancer cells, lower your immunity, and are bad, Bad, BAD. Agave syrup (which is 90%+ fructose) falls into this category as well. How agave syrup ever got called a health food is beyond me.

There are a few things that I plan to give up for a little while, simply because I’m not sure how well my body tolerates them: fruit, starchy vegetables, gluten-free grains, legumes, dairy products, alcohol, caffeine, natural sweeteners, and the like. There’s nothing inherently wrong with any of them (at least in moderation!) but I plan to give them up for a little while. Think of it as sort of a cleanse.

