On Being Exceptional

My favourite definition for the word exceptional is “unusually excellent”.That is how I want to be able to describe myself and my life. To me, an exceptional life is about living with passion. It’s about doing what you truly love, and being great at it.

Being exceptional requires clarity and purpose. It requires self-discipline, confidence and integrity. It requires you to set priorities and to make hard decisions. Being exceptional may be exceptionally hard sometimes.

It’s so easy to lie here in front of my fire and write these words; it’s so much harder to live them. I like the easy path, because it’s easy. There are no hard decisions on the easy path.

But I know where the easy path leads, and it isn’t to an exceptional life.

Am I ready to take the road less travelled?